India hockey queens reign supreme!

Indian Hockey Queens Thrash Japan in Asian Champions Trophy 2023 Final,win 4-0.


Source: X(Hockey India)


India's Victory in the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2023

India lifted the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 2023 title on November 5, 2023, defeating Japan 4-0 in a dominant performance in the final at the Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Ranchi, Jharkhand.

The victory was India’s second Asian Champions Trophy title, having previously won the tournament in 2016. It was also a historic moment for Indian women’s hockey, as it was the first time that the team won a major international title on home soil.

The Jharkhand Women’s Champions Trophy Ranchi was held from 29 October to 5 November 2023 at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi, Jharkhand, India. It was the sixth edition of the tournament, featuring six teams from six countries: China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, and Thailand. India dominated the tournament, winning all five of their group matches. In the semi-finals, India defeated Malaysia 5-0 to reach the final. Japan defeated South Korea in the other semi-final to reach the finals.

The final was a closely contested match in the early stages. India started the match on the front foot and took the lead in the 17th minute through Sangita Kumari. The forward pass was received by Neha Goyal inside the circle and fired the ball past the Japanese goalkeeper to give India a 1-0 lead. Japan tried to equalize in the second quarter, but India’s defense held firm. The Indian team was particularly solid in the air, and they won several penalty corners in the quarter. However, they were unable to convert any of them.

India doubled their lead in the 46th minute through Neha Goyal. The midfielder received a long pass from Vandana Katariya and beat the Japanese goalkeeper with a neat finish to give a 2-0 lead.

India continued to dominate the match in the third quarter, and they scored two more goals to seal the victory. Lalremsiami scored in the 57th minute after a brilliant solo effort, while Vandana Katariya scored in the 60th minute after a flowing team move.

Japan tried to score a consolation goal in the final quarter, but India’s defense stood tall. The Indian team also had a few chances to score more goals but they were unable to convert them.

At the end of the match, India were the deserving winners. They played with great intensity and purpose, and they were never troubled by the Japanese team.

The team has been on a steady rise in recent years, and they are now one of the top women’s hockey teams in the world.

Indian team captain Savita Punia was named the Player of the Tournament for her outstanding performances throughout the tournament. She was particularly impressive in the final, making several crucial saves to keep Japan at bay.

India’s victory was celebrated by fans all over the country. Prime minister Narendra Modi congratulated the team on their achievement. Janneke Schopman, the coach of the Indian team, expressed her happiness after the victory by saying: “I am very happy with the team’s performance. They played very well in the final, and they deserve to win. This is a huge achievement for Indian women’s hockey, and I am proud of the team for their hard work and dedication.”

Top scores:

  • Salima Tete (India) - 5 goals
  • Vandana Katariya (India) - 4 goals
  • Sangita Kumari (India) - 3 goals
  • Neha Goyal (India) - 3 goals
  • Gurjit Kaur (India) - 3 goals


  1. Player of the Tournament: Salima Tete (India)
  2. Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Savita Punia (India)
  3. Defender of the Tournament: Gurjit Kaur (India)
  4. Midfielder of the Tournament: Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam (India)
  5. Forward of the Tournament: Salima Tete (India)

India’s historic victory was a testament to their hard work and dedication. The victory is also a boost for Indian hockey ahead of the 2024 Paris Olympics. India’s Women’s hockey team has already qualified for the Olympics, and they will be hoping to make a podium finish in Paris.

All stories that are reported, edited and published on this platform are original, produced by the students and faculty of National School of Journalism, sometimes contributed by guest faculty and speakers. If you would like to contribute, please email us at tannoy@nsoj.in NSoJ is a news organisation and a highly-selective Journalism school that trains India’s best journalistic talents to become ethical journalists who care deeply about truth, justice and democracy. If you are passionate about journalism and care about the core values of journalism as we do, please apply for a place in one of NSoJ’s programmes - Bachelor of Arts or PG Diploma in Journalism at www.nsoj.in.