BJP Dominates Key Constituencies in 2024 Lok Sabha Polls

Modi Secures Third Term in Varanasi, Amit Shah Triumphs Gandhinagar

Credits: Business Standard

Vaishavi Arulla

In a resounding victory, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has secured the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat for the third consecutive time, defeating Congress candidate Ajay Rai by a margin of over 1.5 lakh votes. Meanwhile, Union Home Minister Amit Shah secured a decisive victory in the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency in Gujarat, defeating his closest opponent from the Congress party, Sonal Patel, by an overwhelming margin of over 744,000 votes. According to Election Commission estimates, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi defeated CPI candidate Annie Raja by more than 3.5 lakh votes in the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala while surpassing his mother Sonia Gandhi's 2019 winning margin in the Rae Bareli constituency of Uttar Pradesh. The former Congress chief secured his seat with an impressive margin of 3,90,030 votes.

Bhartiya Janata Party(BJP)

Rajnath Singh, the Defence Minister, secured a third term representing the Lucknow Lok Sabha seat. He triumphed over his closest competitor, Ravidas Mehrotra from the Samajwadi Party (SP), by a margin exceeding 1.35 lakh votes. Hema Malini, the actor-turned-politician, has successfully retained her seat in the Mathura constituency, where she has served since 2014. She emerged victorious in the UP Lok Sabha election, defeating Congress candidate Mukesh Dhangar by nearly three lakh votes. The Election Commission of India confirmed that Kangana Ranaut, a Bollywood actress and candidate from the Bharatiya Janata Party, won the Mandi Lok Sabha seat with a margin of 74,755 votes.

In a nerve wreaking fight, ministers from the BJP such as Ravi Shankar Prasad, Manoj Tiwari, Naveen Jindal, Basavaraj Bommai and Shivraj Singh Chouhan won by large margins, however, Smriti Irani, the Minister of Women and Child Development of India lost by 1,66,022 votes to Congress Kishori Lal Sharma. Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union Minister for Civil Aviation, defeated his nearest rival Rao Yadvendra Singh of the Congress by more than 5,40,000 votes in the Lok Sabha election. Bhojpuri actor, Ravi Kishan, contesting from Gorakhpur on a BJP ticket won against SP's Kajal Nishad by 1,03,526 votes.

Indian National Congress(Congress)

Kumari Selja won the Sirsa seat with a substantial margin of 268,000 votes. She is a seasoned politician and former Haryana Congress chief. Deepender Singh Hooda, a prominent Congress leader and former MP, secured the Rohtak constituency. He is known for his influential political legacy in Haryana, being the son of former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda​. Shashi Tharoor, an articulate leader known for his eloquence and intellectual prowess, won the Thiruvananthapuram seat once again. He won against Union Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar with a margin of 16,077 votes. Jai Parkash of INC emerges victorious in the Hisar election, surpassing Ranjit Singh of BJP by 34982 votes with 493923 votes. These victories are part of a larger trend where Congress has managed to reclaim significant ground in several states.

All India Trinamool Congress(TMC)

Abhishek Banerjee, the general secretary of the Trinamool Congress and candidate for Diamond Harbour, secured a commanding victory in the election, leading by an impressive margin of over 7 lakh votes. Meanwhile, Mahua Moitra, who was expelled from Parliament over a 'cash-for-vote' case, resumed her Krishnanagar seat, defeating BJP candidate Amrita Roy. Shatrughan Sinha, a prominent TMC politician and actor, won the Asansol seat by 59,564 votes, for a total of 605,645. Yusuf Pathan, a former KKR and India all-rounder, defeated Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, a five-time MP from Bahrampore, by 85022 votes.


Four-time MP and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief retained the Hyderabad parliamentary constituency. He defeated his nearest rival, BJP's actor-turned-politician Madhavi Latha, by more than three lakh votes. The former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Omar Abdulla, lost the Baramulla seat by 2,04,142 votes. He was defeated by Abdul Rashid Sheikh, an independent candidate who received more than 4.72 lakh votes.

Congressman Shreyas Patel defeated incumbent Hassan MP Prajwal Revanna, who is charged with rape and several sexual abuses. With Patel winning by 40,000 votes against Prajwal, Congress was able to win the Hassan Lok Sabha seat after 25 years.

Akhilesh Yadav, the national president of the Samajwadi Party, contested from Azamgarh, a constituency with a rich historical and cultural heritage, while his wife and former Member of Parliament, Dimple Yadav, secured a win in Kannauj. In Firozabad, a constituency known for its political fervour and active electorate, the Samajwadi Party (SP) emerged victorious over the BJP, securing a key position in this historic election.

All stories that are reported, edited and published on this platform are original, produced by the students and faculty of National School of Journalism, sometimes contributed by guest faculty and speakers. If you would like to contribute, please email us at tannoy@nsoj.in NSoJ is a news organisation and a highly-selective Journalism school that trains India’s best journalistic talents to become ethical journalists who care deeply about truth, justice and democracy. If you are passionate about journalism and care about the core values of journalism as we do, please apply for a place in one of NSoJ’s programmes - Bachelor of Arts or PG Diploma in Journalism at www.nsoj.in.